Project Details

a) Thesis: I am going to create a video editor portfolio site that is comprehensive, informative, and simple in design.  My goal is to have a site that has a user-friendly interface that appropriately displays my work.  The purpose of this portfolio is to house my reel so many people can access it (especially potential employers).

b) Timeline:

Week of Feb. 13th: 1) Find an appropriate theme that suits my design sensibility for ellisworks. 2) Compile and upload all my videos to YouTube

Week of Feb. 20th: 1) Write down and create a skeleton for how I want my information to be displayed for each page and what content to include. 2) Create the main page- include a welcome piece and what the site is about as well as have a section for recent updates/news.

Week of Feb 27th: 1) Create my bio page that gives an introduction to who I am and a brief description of my work history/background. 2) Create my reel/work page and especially spending time in how to display these videos without looking overwhelming, but engaging to the viewer.

Week of March 5th: 1) Create a resume page that has a link where people can download a PDF version besides seeing my resume on this page. 2) Create a contact page where people know where they can reach me easily.  The goal for this is to make the page encouraging for viewers to respond.

Week of March 12th: 1) Review my overall site to make sure it is up to my liking. 2) Ask people to give me feedback on the site before I finalize it. 3) Before March 14th, create my promotion blog post and post the finalized site. 4) Complete my essay and turn it in.

c) Measures for Success:  My measures for success and what it will take for me to feel like the project has been a success relies on positive feedback from viewers either verbally, comment posts, or via emails. This is key since I am trying to attract potential clients or have companies see my work so I want the perspective of third party people.  I will feel like I succeeded if:

1) Viewers were able to navigate through my site without instruction

2) They can gather what type of style/artist I am

3) The site was comprehensive and feels complete, but not overwhelming

9 responses to “Project Details

  1. Wow looks like you have a great detailed plan about how to finish this project on time. Also I like that you will make a link to a PDF file in order for people to print out your resume, but will you be truly comfortable putting that much personal information out there for everyone to see? If only there was a way to make it secure, where a password would be necessary to download or view it.

    • Tim, actually you bring up a point I hadn’t even thought of yet. Thanks for that! I think other than my name I’m just going to include an email address as the header…like info@memeellis.com. I’m not too worried about showing my work experience since it’s essentially already all on the internet via LinkedIn.

  2. This sounds awesome! I am sure your know-how involving apple products and and you ease of access to them will make for an awesome video! I will definitely check out your video once posted.

  3. Pingback: Project Responses « AINSLC

  4. Hi Meme,

    I love the name of your site! ellisworks! Your thesis is strong, to the point, and encompassing of your project details! This project sounds like a perfect way to help you obtain that sought after internship. The thing I appreciate most about your project is the fact that your timeline details are so specific. I think that I need to go back and expand mine to make them a little stronger. Your measures of success are perfect! I’m excited for the finished product to see exactly what type of artist/stylist you are! Now… time to decide on that theme for ellisworks! 🙂

  5. Pingback: no class means I typed this in my pj’s! « thechristofer

  6. Pingback: week 8 : project updates « Digital Communication Technologies

  7. Pingback: Portfolio Ideas « PhotoDensity

Leave a comment